top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlex the FairyFindr

A Young Man’s Fairy Garden Adventure

Thank you for your return, FairyFindrs!


Today we will discover the enchanting work of a wonderful Mother-Son fairy garden duo from Austin, Texas! I came across their profile on Instagram while looking for cool fairy garden folks to follow, and boy did they DELIVER! This blog post is an interview with the creative duo, Danielle and Cole! We will learn more about how they got started making fairy gardens in their neighborhood and got tons of other local folks involved!


You can follow along with their journey on Instagram at @travelingfairiesatx and on TikTok by the same name! (QR codes at the end of the blog post!)



Please begin by introducing yourselves, age(s) if you want, and a little bit of background on you two, when you became interested in fairies and folklore, and what was it that inspired you two to finally create your own fairy gardens in your front yard? Feel free to both leave your own separate answers if you want for all or any of the questions! (A few questions just for Cole at the end!)

  • Answer (Cole): My name is Cole and I am 10 years old. I got into fairy gardening because of my mom. When she wanted to make a fairy garden in the front yard and I wanted to help. The little world we created looked really cool when we were done and I wanted to do more.

  • Answer (Danielle): Hello fellow fairy garden lovers. Danielle is my name and fairy garden creating is my game. Well, not really. I have a full-time work from home job in Cyber Security that allows me to use my spare time raising Cole and for my passion of fairy gardens. A few years ago, I went to a local water garden center and they had a fairy garden display in the center of their large space and I fell in love. The mix of the plants integrated in with this magical scene with such detail had me hooked. I knew I had to start a fairy garden in my yard.


What inspired you to turn it into a neighborhood community project?

  • Answer (Danielle): Our neighbors ended up loving the seasonal fairy gardens I created and would come take pictures next to the gardens with their kids. Some kids would beg their parents to go on walks just so they can see the garden. From there it expanded into 2 areas in my front yard. One area changes with the seasons (Spring, Summer, Halloween, Christmas, special focus like Alice in Wonderland, and more). The other is the Smurf garden that Cole created and I helped build out a bit more. After a few months, I found my neighbors would “donate” to the garden with little notes including houses, fences, doors, etc. but they never left their names. It was quite sweet of them.

Can you tell us more about the traveling fairies in pots and how that idea developed?

  • Answer (Danielle): Sure. A few neighbors mentioned they would love to have a garden of their own. Some didn’t want the outdoor maintenance so I came up with the idea of fairy gardens in a pot I could sell/give them for gifts. They ended up spreading the word and that is how we started getting commissions. The name just made sense since the fairies “travel” where ever they go.


(Custom fairy garden with pond using faux plants. $45 sold)


What materials do you typically use to create your fairy gardens?

  • Answer (Danielle): Pots of all kinds (plastic, ceramic, metal, glass, pottery, teacups, tin cases), Dirt, various small and medium sized rocks, small shells, polymer clay, sand (black, white, and tan) moss, resin bridges, crystal beads for the fairy wands, wood chips, twigs, ladybugs, various animal creatures, and of course fairies. Museum wax to hold down and keep in place some of the smaller pieces and Gorilla Glue and Krazy Glue when putting together woodland items. No fairy garden is the same.


Are there any specific challenges you face when making the fairy gardens?

  • Answer: (Cole): Getting to the supplies I want before my mom uses them!

  • Answer (Danielle): Now that we plan to sell at our local markets, I am finding transporting them challenging and will have to come up with ways to keep the gardens in place not only to sell but to make it easier for those who buy them. I want to be sure they love the garden when it gets “home”.


(Danielle and Cole at the Georgetown Texas Poppy Festival 2023.)


How do you decide on the themes for each fairy garden?

  • Answer (Cole): I just finished my first, all my design and creation fairy garden in a terrarium. (pictured below) I saw the wood base with the glass top and it just came to me. I wanted a small house on a hill with water and a bridge. It had to look “woody”. Then as I began to create, the rest just came to me. It was really fun and it will be hard to sell. I love it so much.

  • Answer (Danielle): The pot really dictates what I can do with the garden. I usually see a design anytime I look at the pot. At least the start of one then it grows as I work with it, Sometimes it goes the woodsy route, other times beachy. I just have fun with it. My problem is buying too many cute things to add to the garden ;)


(Pictured: Lighted fairy garden terrarium 100% designed and created by Cole.

- FOR SALE $100)



Do you have a favorite fairy garden that you've created so far?


  • Answer (Cole): The terrarium one I did by myself.

  • Answer (Danielle): The Alice in Wonderland garden I did in my yard. It was my first time using polymer clay and it was so much fun learning a new skill. Took me months to make and/or find the pieces I needed. I was so proud of it at the end.




(Above 2 Pictures: Alice in Wonderland fairy garden in home landscaping.

This gets changed out each season with a new theme.)


How do you involve the community in your own project? What’s your fave part of that?

  • Answer (Danielle): When I catch someone out front, I ask them what they think, what they would like to see next. I am planning a fairy garden workshop in the fall and I will invite the neighborhood.


Have you received any memorable feedback or reactions from the community about your fairy gardens?

  • Answer (Cole): People always ask me how long it takes and where we got the materials.

  • Answer (Danielle): I had one person who was part of our neighborhood Facebook group who moved but they drove back to the neighborhood just to see the new fairy garden after I posted it. That comment really made me feel good. She said to never stop doing it because it brings her back to her childhood and it was magical. I cried a little and gave her a hug.

Do you offer any workshops or tutorials for people who want to create their own fairy gardens?

  • Answer (Danielle): Not yet but I plan to have one in the fall with fairy garden making or fairy accessory making. I haven’t decided yet.


(Woodland harp and music sheet stand. FOR SALE- $25)


What do you enjoy most about working on this project as a mother and son team?

  • Answer (Cole): That I get to do it with my mom!

  • Answer (Danielle): Cheesy but my answer is the same. It’s a time where we feed off of each others ideas. Cole really has some great ones that I wouldn’t have thought of. I hope I also pass on basic design frameworks so he can design on his own as well. My time with him is precious.


How has this project brought you closer together?

  • Answer (Cole): We are close already but this is a time where it is just me and mom. I love it!

  • Answer (Danielle): He is just too sweet. Cole for sure is a “momma’s boy” but in a good way. We really enjoy each others company and have fun no matter what we are doing. This is another outlet for us to do fun things together.


Have you encountered any unexpected challenges along the way? How did you overcome them?

  • Answer (Danielle): Finding out how to start and run a business has been challenging. The next challenge will be setting up local markets in the fall. My friend Heather @unearthedatx has been a great resource and wonderful friend. Answering all my questions and even showcasing our creations @austingiftcompany until August. I can’t thank her enough!


(Woodland fairy miniature bookcase with aura crystal

and Dalmatian Jasper mushroom. - FOR SALE $35)


What impact do you hope your fairy gardens have on the community?

  • Answer (Danielle): My main goal is to bring a little joy, whimsy, and a touch of magic into a world that needs a LOT more of that. I love bringing a smile to someones face. If our fairy gardens do that, we will continue making them.


Are there any plans to expand or take the project in new directions in the future?

  • Answer (Danielle): My hope is to create one of a kind fairy kits that I can ship worldwide. Not very scalable if they are one of a kind, but they will be special. I hope to create accessories as well and sell online.


Have you collaborated with any local artists or other creative gardeners and locals in your community? If so, tell us about it!

  • Answer (Danielle): My creative friend Heather @unearthedatx is showcasing the gardens, as I stated above. I have contacted a few artisans on Etsy and local garden centers but nothing yet. I will keep trying. Usually get 10,000 no’s before you get 1 yes. Though 1 Etsy artisan is interested, so we shall see.


(Fairy garden in a tin. - FOR SALE $18)


How do you balance your creative work with other responsibilities like work and school?

  • Answer (Cole): I create after school but mostly on the weekends.

  • Answer (Danielle): Weekends and after work is the only times I have to do this. I find that squeezing it in is not a problem since I look forward to it. Hopefully, that won’t change.


Have you faced any negative reactions or criticism regarding your fairy gardens? How do you handle them?

  • Answer (Danielle): One person asked me why they would want one. I thought that was an interesting question but really drove home my elevator pitch. Fairy gardens aren’t for everyone, but if you like the look of plants (real or faux) and want a little more whimsy, joy, and magic in your life, you will want to have a fairy garden of your own. She commissioned me right then and there for 2 gardens.


What advice would you give to someone who wants to start a similar community project?

  • Answer (Danielle): Just do what you love and people will notice and be attracted to your love for the project. Those that aren’t, are not your people anyway.


(Custom fairy garden with lighted gazebo and real succulents. - FOR SALE $65)


How do you come up with new ideas to keep your fairy gardens fresh and exciting?

  • Answer (Danielle): I get a lot of inspiration from the internet, Pinterest, pop culture, other fairy garden creators. There are some really talented people out there.


Have you noticed any positive changes in your neighborhood or community since starting this project?

  • Answer (Danielle): More people go for walks to see the gardens. Others in the neighborhood have done larger scale gardens in their front yard.


Do you have any favorite stories about the impact your fairy gardens have had on people's lives?

  • Answer (Danielle): Not yet, but can’t wait to hear one! They have impacted Cole and I already so there’s that.


Do you incorporate feedback and suggestions from the community into your work or is it solely and artistic endeavor for you two?

  • Answer (Danielle): A few have asked for job-related specific fairy gardens. And kids seem to want their favorite cartoon show or dinosaurs. I am down for all of it!



What's the most rewarding part of sharing your fairy gardens with others?

  • Answer (Danielle): Seeing the smile on their face and watching their reactions when they see a specific item in their garden that looked so real and they didn’t ask to be included. Like the Sonic garden, I found gold rings and added them along a path for Tails to run to in the path.


Have you faced any logistical or practical challenges while creating your gardens?

  • Answer (Danielle): Just the cost of items. Trying to find wholesalers that won’t break the bank. I want to keep them affordable. Going to start hand making more with polymer and air dry clay. As well as using more of nature (acorns, more twigs, rocks, etc.).


How do you promote your fairy gardens to attract more people from the community? Do you leave Instagram links for folks to follow out in your gardens or just tell people when you encounter them?

  • Answer (Danielle): I have an about us with my instagram QR code set up in a frame at the Austin Gift Company. I also plan to purchase a sign from someone on Etsy for the markets. I also tell everyone I run into-- I got 5 followers this week from the local vintage shops.


(A miniature fairy garden in a mug by TravelingFairiesATX)


Are there any future events or special projects related to your fairy gardens that we should know about?

  • Answer (Danielle): Will share a booth with @uneartheredatx on the first Saturday of September at the Wimberely Market Days. More market days local to Austin, Texas in the fall as well.

Can you share any tips or techniques for creating visually appealing and magical fairy gardens?

  • Answer (Danielle): Scale is key. Laying out largest plants in the back and trailing down to the shortest in front looks best. Adding in the details is what makes a fairy garden look real. The more it looks like you would live there if you were miniature, the better.


Is there anything else you'd like to share about your journey or experiences with The Traveling Fairies of Austin TX project?

  • Answer (Danielle): Meeting like minded people has been the most rewarding and unexpected experience so far. I hope to meet more local artisans. If you are in Austin and see me at a booth, please stop by and say “Hi” to Cole and I. We love discussing creative endeavors. Let’s support and follow each other.


Are there any positive moments or encouraging words you've received that have helped you navigate through any doubts or anxieties?

  • Answer (Cole): I had no doubts since my mom is so positive, it made me positive as well. I have learned a lot so far too.

  • Answer (Danielle): I have found when I talk about the gardens and what Cole and I are doing with friends, family, strangers, most are interested and ask more about it. Most never heard or have seen fairy gardens and they think they are cool, or cute. Nothing negative so far more curiosity.


(Commissioned Sonic fairy garden - $40 SOLD)


The next few questions are for Cole only!


Do you have any role models or inspirations who encourage you to embrace your creativity and passions?

  • Answer (Cole): My mom for sure! I also play bass guitar so my music teacher inspires me as well. I love following YouTubers that are creative as well. No specific Youtubers I can think of currently.


Has your experience with fairy gardens taught you anything valuable about being true to yourself and pursuing what you love?

  • Answer (Cole): I just do what I love to do and don’t worry about what anyone else thinks. It’s fun and people like them so why not.


How do you combat stereotypes and misconceptions about what boys should or shouldn't be interested in?

  • Answer (Cole): To be honest, I don’t care if it is considered a boy thing or a girl thing. I don’t get it. My family let’s me do what I want, no matter the stereotypes.


(Cole and Danielle in Magical Kawaii 2023)


Have you found support and understanding from your peers or friends regarding your fairy gardens? How have they reacted?

  • Answer (Cole): All my friends, boys and girls, love them. My friend Micah even commissioned me and my mom to create a half woodland with sloth and half desert with crab fairy garden. It was really fun. Everyone I have told about it loves what we create and have been really supportive.


Cole, How did you initially react when/if you faced criticism or negativity from others about your hobby being "too girly"?

  • Answer (Cole): I haven’t faced that. And if I did, I don’t care. If you don’t like it, don’t look at it or talk about it. I won’t mention it and move on.


Have you ever encountered any instances of bullying related to your hobby? If so, how did you handle them?

  • Answer (Cole): Nope. And again, it wound’t bother me. If a friend did that to me then they were not a friend to begin with.


How have you managed to stay confident and passionate about your fairy gardens despite the hobby being seen as more of a girly thing by some people?

  • Answer (Cole): Not an issue with me because I just like doing it. Why would I stop? My mom is passionate about it so that helps too. I don’t have any reason to not want to do it.


Is there anything you would like to say to other guys who may be hesitant to pursue their creative interests, like fairy gardens, due to societal expectations of boys and men?

  • Answer (Cole): If they are scared to do it, nothing really that bad would happen for you pursing your dream. If there was, I say follow your dreams and what makes you happy. Don't’ give up if it is something you really want. Don’t let anyone get in your way by talking you down or making you feel bad.


(Social Media QR codes for @TravelingFairiesATX)


What an exhilarating interview-- I'm so happy to have Danielle and Cole over at TravelingFairiesATX join the FairyFindr Fam! Even the more difficult questions that I asked Cole, he answered them with so much grace and wisdom, what an Old Soul you are, Cole! Well, FairyFindrs, what do you think-- why don't you go make some of your own Traveling Fairies or fairy gardens....the fairies await!



May the fairies bless you!


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page